Book Series for Grades 1 to 4

Free program that includes read-aloud books & cross-curricular activities.

Book Series Synopsis

These fictional read-aloud books and their supporting classroom activities weave elements of foods and their origins as well as nutrition and cooking into the ongoing adventures of four friends; Emma, Nadine, Colin and Robin. 

This program:

  • Is age appropriate and engaging;

  • Was developed with the support of teachers and learning specialists from Departments of Education and Early Childhood Development;

  • Aligns with curriculum in the Maritimes; 

  • Includes cross-curricular classroom activities and printable activity sheets;

  • Includes a "Teacher Did you Know" section that provides up-to-date information to enhance classroom discussions with students.

View each book's synopsis


Multi level
Food literacy

Click a book below to get started 


Topics to explore